Our 26 Warriors

Our 26 Warriors

Diego Alonso announced his 26 squad for the Qatar 2022 World Cup with the surprise of José Luis Rodríguez among the payroll. We review some characteristics of the chosen ones.

Half debut

Sergio Rochet, Sebastián Sosa, Ronald Araújo, José Rodríguez, Mathías Olivera, Matías Viña, Manuel Ugarte, Federico Valverde, Facundo Pellistri, Agustín Canobbio, Facundo Torres, Nicolás De la Cruz and Darwin Núñez will have their first World Cup experience. The other 13 repeat.


8 players of the 26 chosen are 31 or over: Sebastián Sosa, Fernando Muslera, Diego Godín, Luis Suárez, Edinson Cavani, Matías Vecino, Martín Cáceres and Sebastián Coates.

Three on the list

Nacional has the most important presence of 2002, by sending three players to a World Cup. Sergio Rochet, Luis Suárez and José Luis Rodríguez are also the only three representatives of the local media.

Black quarry

6 of the 26 players who will represent Uruguay were trained in Peñarol. Sebastián Sosa, Facundo Torres, Federico Valverde, Facundo Pellistri, Darwin Núñez and Guillermo Varela are the players from the aurinegro seedbed who will travel to Qatar.

In addition, there are four members of the training divisions of Danubio and Nacional and three of Defensor Sporting.

Central touched

Ronald Araújo and Diego Godín arrive after different injuries. The Barcelona man was authorized to travel and his steps will be followed with his club, while the captain had very little activity in the semester and saw action in recent games.

Other interesting notes

Share this article